The “F” word

Approximately 4 years ago my sister was completing her matric year , the same position in which I find myself in now . Through out the year she came up with her very own “F” word whereby the use of it would result in disastrous consequences . Now what could it possibly be ? Why of course it is the FUTURE.

Who am I?

Ahh yes , the ever so daunting and uncertain future . I fully understand her reluctance to face the future. Change is trapping me in a vortex spinning me around and leaving me with no time to make rational and informed decisions . It comes along in the form of university applications , what do I want do with my life ? My parents and their constant reminders that numbers on a piece of paper determine my future and the scariest of all , the thought of losing my friends and needing to make new ones. It’s only been 3 months into 2015 and I already cant wait for it to be over .

Have you ever heard of a little thing called the INDIAN KID DILEMMA? No ? Well then i am here to inform you of this problem facing millions of students all around the world ( #asianinvasion) . As an indian kid you were raised believing two things

1.) Maths is the key to life

2.) the only acceptable professions are : doctor ,accountant or lawyer

Naturally , you would think that by the 21st century such narrow minded notions would have been abandoned but I fear they still reign supreme. I cant help but agree with the practicality of it all , seeing as maths is important in going further in these professions which do pay wonderfully BUT what happens when you are that one kid who happens to be dismal at maths and share no interest or skill in the above mentioned professions ? Well, then you’re ME.

I have this theory that they force their kids to go off and study these things just so they have bragging rights , like “oh did you hear my youngest is off at medical school” sounds a lot more appealing to the crowd as opposed to ” my youngest is getting a degree in English literature”

For now I just need to take each day as it comes and pray I can successfully convince my parents that my happiness is just as important . The future isn’t going anywhere but I will continue to evade it for as long as I can.

One thought on “The “F” word

  1. I don’t know if its still valid to give this advice, but I found myself in a similar state of not being given many options of career goals to follow when I was finishing school.

    My teachers were fixated on the fact that accounts or business related jobs were the only thing that can give you a proper future in life. My parents also had similar opinions. As school was ending, I just couldn’t accept the fact that I had to choose between options that I did not like. It took me some time to convince my parents but eventually I did. I just told them that if they really wanted me to be happy and actually be successful in life then they would let me choose a course that I really wanted to – not something the society or my parents thought were the right options. I went with IT and I’m currently doing my bachelors in just that. I still think that I wouldn’t have been happy in life doing something else.

    Keep trying and don’t give up on convincing your parents. Do what you want to and try and make them understand just that. Sorry if this comment was a bit long or a bit late.

Leave a Reply

