Things I don’t like about my generation

Firstly , I am 15 and not exactly too sure into which category of a generation in which I fall in , but I am starting to think it is possibly the worst generation of all time , and if we’re so downright intolerable , what does that say for the future ?

1. #YOLO #SWAG #SELFIES

If you haven’t seen these hashtags or phrases floating around you’re too old to be reading this , please leave. I am absolutely revolted when I come across such things despite the fact that I am a hypocrite who occasionally takes selfies ( which by the way , the word has been added to the Oxford English Dictionary, talk about degrading). What is SWAG apart from a word used to make teenage boys and girls feel superior or cool? if anyone has a proper definition , please do enlighten me. No dear child screaming YOLO as an excuse to do stupid things , you live everyday , you only die once #YODO.

Set Phasers to LOL: So Start Using the Correct Term - Cheezburger

2.Justin Bieber and Miley Cyrus

Two pop sensations who started of as nothing more than innocent kids with a dream of being famous and what do we have today ? a tattooed arrestee and  advocate for provocative dressing and behaviour, who’s influence on teenagers is off the charts( get it?  I am punny , because they’re singers.. pop charts ? no? okay). These are the role models we have to look up to and sadly despite obvious reasons not to look up to them , we have mindless beliebers and what ever miley fans call themselves ( I could not be bothered to check).

Idolss!!

3. shortening of words

Please tell me how hard it is to type ‘because’ instead of ‘cuz’ and please don’t blame twitter for shortening , I manage just fine .

4. snapbacks , nerd glasses , moustaches and short shorts

I’d like to start in the words of Coco Chanel ” fashion fades but style is eternal”, firs up why weren’t nerd glasses cool in the 80’s , instead kids go beat up for wearing them … now kids get beat up if they don’t , oh the irony. I for one cant stand snapbacks , I feel it endorses gansterism and just looks plain stupid or ghetto. I cannot for the life of me understand why moustaches are considered fashionable … you’re either shaving / waxing it off not wearing it on a t-shirt. And lastly for the infamous short shorts , sorry girls but no one wants to see your butt cheeks , cover them up.

can’t you tell how nerdy she is?

Untitled

5. we never go out and experience life 

here I am guilty to this offence , my life literally revolves around twitter , tumblr , my blog , wifi , youtubers and food , if I can help it, a sunset is a picture on instagram or weheartit. We live our lives through technology without actually experiencing it , which is pretty detrimental for our health , apart from dying of cancer due to insane amounts of radiation , we’re also destroying our beautiful earth!

...

6. Obsessed with beauty

Don’t even get me started on this one , my previous post : beauty is in the eye 0f the beholder , basically sums up my deep infuriating feelings on the matter.

Quote

I think I have done enough ranting for one day , if you do share my sentiments , let me know .. otherwise go on being the pretentious little teenager I know you are.

2 thoughts on “Things I don’t like about my generation

  1. AMEN, SISTER FRIEND.

    I couldn’t agree more; our generation has become undeniably shallow and celebrates “icons” like Justin and Miley instead of investing more in the future through experiences and personal growth.

    Really nice blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

